Why I Vote

Dorothea Mordan
3 min readSep 23, 2020

Everyone has a story of why voting matters.

If you don’t vote, you are writing someone else’s story.

Today voting matters to me because we in the United States of America have been given a gift that many people never get, the right to put our needs on the record, to have a say in how our society works.

I vote because so many people are denied that right.

I vote to remove the barriers to voting, because there are still many of our own fellow citizens who are kept from voting.

I vote because if my candidate loses my vote is part of the warning to the winner that they are not the favorite of everyone. My vote is part of the record of other opinions.

I vote because I believe in the Social Contract of a Democracy, specifically our democracy, in which we can share the decisions about quality of life and sharing resources. Sharing the decision, not one group making decisions for everyone else. Decisions about food and water, shelter, health, guidelines for commerce. I want my voice to be part of the common good.

I vote because the common good is so much more important to share with my fellow citizens than my personal choices of how to live my life. I do not want anyone to tell me how to live and I don’t want to tell anyone else how to live.

I vote because I believe in the Separation of Church and State. I believe that all personal decisions of religion are not to be subject to government laws.

--

--